Searching for Truth and Examining Beliefs

I believe that it is essential to keep examining ones beliefs and searching for Truth. If one becomes too rooted in their convictions and certain that they are right, they are at risk of becoming arrogant and smug. That person ceases to grow.

As an avid reader, and a person who enjoys learning, I cannot imagine ceasing to learn and search and grow. To me, that sounds suffocating.

There are certain areas where my belief is solid:

I believe that God created the Earth, that Jesus was born of a virgin, and that He died and rose again on the 3rd day, and ascended into Heaven. I believe He will return someday and bring believers into the place He is preparing for us. I believe that Jesus is THE way not A way to Heaven. I believe that once a person is saved, their sins are forgiven, and their place in eternity assured. I believe that their place in eternity was bought with the blood of Christ.

I have read many publications, secular and Christian, and have not been shaken one iota on those beliefs. On the contrary, everything I’ve read has served to solidify my beliefs.

There are other areas where I have recently begun to question my position, and am continually searching for Truth. I believe this is healthy, and necessary.

1. The rapture. While I an certain it will happen, I am not certain of the timing. Will it be Pre-Tribulation, Mid-Tribulation or Post-Tribulation? I am hoping for Pre-Tribulation (perhaps this makes me chicken 🙂 ). I was at one time convinced of the rightness of the Pre-Trib position, but at this point, I am open and am continuing to search and investigate. Perhaps my position will remain the same, perhaps it will change.

2. Calvinism vs. Arminianism. I was solidly on the side of Arminianism. Recently, I’ve begun to question that position. I am reading, searching, and most importantly praying. I am currently reading this http://www.graceonlinelibrary.org/reformed-theology/arminianism/calvinism-vs-arminianism-comparison-chart/ and have downloaded John Piper’s book “Five Points”. I am continuing to search and learn. I don’t know how it will come out – I may decide that I still hold an Arminian position, or I may determine that the Calvinist position is correct.

Just to be clear, I mentioned that I read both secular and Christian publications. While this is true, I recognize that the final authority is the Bible, because it is God’s inerrant Word. 2 Timothy 3:16-17, 1 Thess 5:21

I love the way John Piper puts it in his book “Five Points”:

“And on one sense, we are all on the way. Even when we know things biblically and truly – things clear enough and precious enough to die for – we still see through a glass dimly (1 Cor 13:12). There can be many tears as we seek to put our idea through the testing fire of God’s Word. But all the wrestling to understand what the Bible teaches about God is worth it. God is a rock of strength in a world of quicksand. To know Him in His sovereignty is to become like an oak tree in the wind of adversity and confusion. And along with strength is sweetness and tenderness beyond imagination. The sovereign Lion of Judah is the sweet Lamb of God.”

Leave a Reply

