Why Do I Believe In A God I Cannot See?

I have been asked this question a few times over the years.  I will begin with a question:  Do you believe the wind exists?  Of course – everyone believes that the wind exists.  You cannot see the wind, yet we know it exists.  How do we know the wind exists?  Not by seeing the wind itself, but by seeing the effect the wind has on other things.

  • We see leaves dancing around, so we know there is wind.
  • We see branches bending and swaying, so we know there is wind.
  • We see tumbleweeds rolling around, so we know there is wind.
  • We feel the wind moving our hair, caressing our face, so we know there is wind.

We don’t believe there is wind because we see wind.  We believe there is wind because we see what wind does.

It is t he same with God.  We cannot point and say, “There is God, standing over there!”  But we can look at what God has touched, and continues to touch, and see the effect God has on other objects.  We can see creation – God’s handiwork.  Look at all the marvels God created with but a breath, a whisper here, a shout there.

We can see lives touched by God, and see the effect His touch has had on their lives.  We can see a lost, damaged person become whole.  We can see a person whose life was once steeped in wickedness striving to live a life that honors Christ.  They do not do so through their own power, but by the Holy Spirit.  Changed hearts, changed lives are everywhere.

I know that God is real because I have seen the changes He has made in my life.   I am not who I want to be but, praise God, I am not who I was.  I can feel the Holy Spirit living within me, and comforting and instructing me.

Hear what God is saying.  He is calling you.

Look and see what God has done, and is still doing. It is all around you.

Open your heart and feel what God can do!

One thought on “Why Do I Believe In A God I Cannot See?

Leave a Reply

